Member Services

Executive Board

Norm Neault

Norm has been a UFCW member since 1974 working in the dairy industry. During that time he had the opportunity to serve as Shop Steward, Unit Chair, Vice President and serve on various committees. When Local 241 merged with Local 1400 in 1994, Norm became a Vice President and served in that capacity until being hired by the local in 1998. In October 2003 Norm was elected as Secretary-Treasurer of the local and assumed those duties as well as servicing.

Norm has served as President since January, 2009.


Lucy Flack Figueiredo

Lucy became a member of UFCW 1400 in 1996 when the Salvation Army Thrift store in Saskatoon joined the local union.  She became a shop steward soon after and participated in bargaining as a bargaining committee member for the next ten years while working there.  She was a participant on the UFCW Canada Youth Internship Program in 2003 and became a Special Projects Union Representative in September of that year.  In February of 2006, Lucy was hired permanently by the local as a representative.  Since 2011, Lucy has been acting as the Collective Bargaining Representative and in April of 2016 has been serving as the Secretary- Treasurer of Local 1400.


Barb Logan
Executive Vice President

Barb became a member of Local 1400 when she began work at the Saskatoon Co-operative Association in 1981 and became a Shop Steward in 1982.  She is currently Chief Shop Steward at the Saskatoon Co-op.  Barb was elected as Secretary-Treasurer of Local 1400 in 1984 and held the position until January 2004 when she was first elected as Executive Vice President.  Barb is also active in Leukemia fundraising for the local.



Rick Erhardt
Recording Secretary

Rick joined the Brewery, Flour, Cereal, Soft drink and Distillery Workers (BFCSD) when he began working at the Coca-Cola plant in Regina in 1984. The BFCSD subsequently merged with UFCW and became Local 319W where over the years Rick served as a Shop Steward, Secretary-Treasurer, and in 1990 became President of Local 319W. He served as President until Local 319W merged with Local 1400 in January 2003, at which point he became a Vice-President of Local 1400 and was elected to the Recording Secretary position for the 2008 term.



Nick Huziek

Nick joined the Executive Board in January, 2013 when UFCW Local 342P merged with Local 1400. He is currently employed at P&H Milling Group located on 33rd Street in Saskatoon. He has been employed at this location since 1987 which was formerly CSP Foods, then Dawn Foods, then Dover. He is employed as a Flour Mill Elevator Grain Agent. In his second year of employment he became a Shop Steward, then Chief Steward 3 years later. For six years, he was President of Local 34P. Nick has attended bargaining for POS, P&H, and Horizon Milling.



Pat Schermann

Pat has worked for Westfair since prior to this local union's formation. He became a union member of UFCW's predecessor union, the Retail Clerks International Union, Local 401 until 1981 when the Saskatchewan-based membership of UFCW Local 401 merged with Local 1400. Pat has been a Shop Steward at Extra Foods (now YIG) in Regina for since 1977 and an Executive Board member for many years. He was first on the Executive Board from 1981 to 1984, stepping down for family obligations, then ran and was re-elected in 1993, holding his position to present. Pat has also been active on Occupational Health and Safety committees in his workplace and continues to fundraise for Leukemia research with Local 1400.



Jim Kutnikoff

Jim joined the local union when he started work at the Prince Albert SuperStore as a shipper-receiver in 1982 and has been the store's Chief Shop Steward since that time; he is also a member of the Grievance Committee. He has been representing his unit on the Bargaining Committee since 1996. He became a member of the local’s Executive Board in January 2000 and has been re-elected for each subsequent term.



Martin Altwasser

Martin became a member of the Brewery, Flour, Cereal, Soft drink and Distillery Workers (BFCSD) in 1977 when he was hired by the Carling Brewery in Saskatoon. The BFCSD merged with UFCW Local 346W in 1984. In 1990 when a group of employees bought the brewery, they re-named it Great Western Brewery. Martin continued to work at the brewery and over the years has served as a Shop Steward and an OH&S member, and Vice-President then President of Local 346W. Martin became a Vice-President of Local 1400 when Local 346W merged with Local 1400 in January of 2003.



Verna Peepeetch

Verna became a member in June of 1996. She has been working as a cashier at the Yorkton Superstore since that time. She is an active member of  Local 1400’s Aboriginal and Women’s committees. Verna was appointed to a vacant position on the board in April, 2014.




Rick Weichel

Rick became a member of the Brewery, Flour, Cereal, Soft drink and Distillery Workers (BFCSD) when he was hired as a temporary employee with the Saskatchewan Brewers Association in Regina, now called Brewers Distributor Ltd. The BFCSD merged with UFCW in 1984, the same year Rick became a full-time employee. Over the years Rick has served as Shop Steward and was President of Local 340 for six years until it merged with Local 1400 in 1994. He was elected as Vice-President of the Local for the term beginning January 1, 2004.





Judy Hrycuik

Judy became a member of Local 1400 in 1979 when she became employed by Westfair Foods Ltd. (Superstore on 8th Street, Saskatoon) in the Deli department. Judy is very active within her workplace and the union, sitting on the OH&S and Grievance committees, is the Chief Shop Steward for her store, and is the Provincial Representative for the UFCW Women's Advisory Committee. She was elected to the board in November, 2011.




Tammy Neff
Tammy has been employed by the Moose Jaw Superstore in the Front End department since 1995 and was elected to the board January 1, 2016. She is a Shop Steward and is a member of the UFCW Women's Committee as well as the OH&S Committee. She assists with the Moose Jaw Golf tournament and is a member of the Moose Jaw Labour Council.


Click to view the full digital publication online

Saskatoon Office

1526 Fletcher Road Saskatoon, SK S7M 5M1

phone: 306.384.5787

fax: 306.978.0790

toll free: 1.800.274.4036


Regina Office

700H-4400 4th Ave Regina, SK S4T 0H8

toll free: 1.888.886.9016

fax: 306.791.4883